Digging In: Growth and Hope

I think the past week or so has made me realise I’m in Stanford-le-Hope for the ‘long haul’, so to speak. This doesn’t determine the length of time that I’ll spend here, even though that has recently increased. It’s more to do with my understanding of the journey.

I’m not here simply to ride the wave of answers to prayer and joyful times, though there have been many of those. I’m here to sow into God’s kingdom even when we don’t see immediate results. It might be that we take two steps forward and one step back, or even what seems like one forward and two back, but that won’t mean we will stop praying and serving. As the writer of the book of Hebrews says, faith is being sure of what you hope for. We hope for God’s kingdom here, and we have faith; we are sure it will happen, because God assures us that it will. In some respects, it is hard to miss! I’ve seen time after time, we have asked God for more, for a step further, for a new breakthrough, and it has come. But it’s when we don’t see it that we need to keep going.

My weekend at the Colchester Boiler Room taught me that growth takes time. They had planted lots of carrots on the allotment, but there were hardly any visible shoots. This did not deter them. They kept tending to the hidden seeds, hoping that their weeding and watering would produce signs of life.

We live lives of hope, in a world where we see partially.
So I’m not here to just harvest, I’m here to get my hands dirty.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

